Library Policies

Items that may be checked out of the library are shelved in the Main stacks on the first floor of the library.

Number of items: Students may check out up to 20 items at any one time.

Circulation period: 

• 30 days for books
• 7 days for videos

Notifications: A courtesy reminder email is sent three days prior to the due date. See Notifications tab for more information.

Overdue fines: A fine of 25 cents is assessed per book each day after the due date. See Fines tab for more information. 

Renewals: Students may renew books twice online or in person. See instructions. EXCEPTION: Books borrowed on interlibrary loan may only be renewed by contacting [email protected].

Holds: Students may place a hold on a book. See instructions.

20190910 - rrh

Reserve Items are restricted to HIU student use and shelved behind the Circulation Desk on the first floor of the library. Reserve items must stay inside the library.

Number of items: Students may check out up to 20 items at any one time (Main and Reserves combined). 

Circulation period: 4 hours unless otherwise noted.

Notifications: Overdue notices will be sent to the patron's HIU email address.

Overdue fines: A fine of 25 cents per hour is assessed per item past the due time. See Fines tab for more information. 

Renewals: Reserve items may not be renewed. 

Holds: Students may place a hold on a book. See instructions.

20190910 - rrh

Items that may not be checked out:

• Periodicals, journals, magazines (print)
• Archive materials

Print periodicals may be used in the library. Scanning is permitted within copyright laws.

Archives materials may only be used with prior arrangement, permission, and under supervision of a librarian.

20240116 - jar

Overdue fines, replacement costs, and processing fees

Overdue fines

• Main (books and videos): 25 cents for each item per day.
• Reserve items: 25 cents for each item per hour or any fraction of an hour overdue.
• A maximum of $10 is accrued for any overdue item.

Lost books

• A flat replacement cost of $50 is charged for each overdue book. This charge is waived upon the item's return.
• A $10 processing fee is assessed for lost or damaged books. This charge is waived upon the item's return.
• Overdue fines accrued for the item.

Maximum: Patrons who have accrued $10.00 in fines or fees are automatically blocked from checking out items from the library.

Payments: Fines and fees may be paid

• in cash in the library.
• by credit card in the Business Office with a form obtained at the library's Circulation Desk.

Graduation Clearance: Library patron accounts must be cleared of any outstanding fines, fees, or overdue items before being cleared for graduation.

20170302 - rrh

Notifications from the Library

An HIU email address is required for students to be registered as library patrons. This email address is used for all library notifications, including:

• Courtesy notices of upcoming due date.
• Overdue notices
• InterLibrary Loans
• Confirmation of Holds and Renewals

20170302 - rrh

Items that may be checked out of the library are shelved in the Main stacks on the first floor of the library.

Number of items: Faculty and staff may check out up to 40 items at any one time.

Circulation period: All items are due at the end of the semester.

Notifications: A courtesy reminder email is sent three days prior to the due date. See Notifications tab for more information.

Overdue fines: No overdue fines are assessed for faculty. 

Renewals: Faculty and staff may renew books once online or in person. See instructions. EXCEPTION: Books borrowed on interlibrary loan may only be renewed by contacting [email protected].

Holds: Faculty and staff may place a hold on a book. See instructions.

20190910 - rrh

Reserve Items are restricted to HIU student use and shelved behind the Circulation Desk on the first floor of the library. Reserve items must stay inside the library.

Faculty may refer to the Faculty Orientation Guide for instructions on how to place items on reserve.

20170201 - rrh

Items that may not be checked out:

• Reference Books
• Periodicals, journals, magazines (print)
• Archive materials

Reference books and print periodicals may be used in the library. Photocopying and scanning is permitted within copyright laws.

Archives materials may only be used with prior arrangement, permission, and under supervision of a librarian.

20170201 - rrh

Overdue fines, replacement costs, and processing fees

Faculty are not assessed overdue fines.

Lost books

• A flat replacement cost of $50 is charged for each overdue book. This charge is waived upon the item's return.
• A $10 processing fee is assessed for lost or damaged books. This charge is waived upon the item's return.

20170302 - rrh

Notifications from the Library

An HIU email address is required for faculty and staff to be registered as library patrons. This email address is used for all library notifications, including:

• Courtesy notices of upcoming due date.
• InterLibrary Loans
• Confirmation of Holds and Renewals

20170302 - rrh

Items that may be checked out of the library are shelved in the Main stacks on the first floor of the library.

Number of items: Alumni may check out up to 10 items at any one time.

Circulation period: 

• 30 days for books
• 7 days for videos

Notifications: A courtesy reminder email is sent three days prior to the due date. See Notifications tab for more information.

Overdue fines: A fine of 25 cents is assessed per book each day after the due date. See Fines tab for more information. 

Holds: Alumni may place a book on hold to be picked up later. See instructions.

Alumni may not:

• Renew books online
• Request Interlibrary Loans

20170302 - rrh

Reserve Items are restricted to HIU student use and shelved behind the Circulation Desk on the first floor of the library.

Alumni may not check out Reserve materials.

20170302 - rrh

Items that may not be checked out:

• Reference Books
• Periodicals, journals, magazines (print)
• Archive materials
• Items on Reserve (for current student use only)

Reference books and print periodicals may be used in the library. Photocopying and scanning is permitted within copyright laws.

Archives materials may only be used with prior arrangement, permission, and under supervision of a librarian.

20170217 - rrh

Overdue fines, replacement costs, and processing fees

Overdue fines

• Accrue at a rate of 25 cents for each item per day.
• A maximum of $10 will be accrued for any single overdue item.

Charges for Lost or Damaged Books

• Accrual of overdue charges apply (see above)
• A flat replacement cost of $50 is charged for each lost or damaged book.**
• A $10 processing fee is assessed for each lost or damaged book.**

*Overdue accrual rates may be discontinued if/when books are reported as lost before the $10 maximum fine is reached,
**This charge is waived upon the item's undamaged return.

Maximum: Patrons who have accrued $10.00 in fines or fees are automatically blocked from checking items out from the library.

Payments: Fines and fees may be paid by the following methods:

• in cash in the library.
• by credit card in the Business Office with a form obtained at the library's Circulation Desk.

20191107 - rrh

Notifications from the Library

An email address is required for registration as a patron of the library. This email address is used for all library notifications, including:

• Courtesy notices of upcoming due date
• Overdue notices
• Confirmation of Holds placed

20170302 - rrh

Items that may be checked out of the library are shelved in the Main stacks on the first floor of the library.

Number of items: Guests may check out up to 5 items at any one time.

Circulation period: 

• 30 days for books
• 7 days for videos

Notifications: A courtesy reminder email is sent three days prior to the due date. See Notifications tab for more information.

Overdue fines: A fine of 25 cents is assessed per book each day after the due date. See Fines tab for more information. 

Holds: Guests may place a book on hold to be picked up later. See instructions.

Guests may not:

• Renew books online
• Request Interlibrary Loans

20190910 - rrh

Reserve Items are restricted to HIU student use and shelved behind the Circulation Desk on the first floor of the library.

Guests may not check out Reserve materials.

20170302 - rrh

Items that may not be checked out:

• Reference Books*
• Periodicals, journals, magazines (print)*
• Archive materials**
• Items on Reserve for current student use only

*Reference books and print periodicals may be used in the library. Photocopying and scanning is permitted within copyright laws.

**Archives materials may only be used with prior arrangement, permission, and under supervision of a librarian.

20191107 - rrh

Overdue fines, replacement costs, and processing fees

Overdue fines

• Accrue at a rate of 25 cents for each item per day.
• A maximum of $10 will be accrued for any single overdue item.

Charges for Lost or Damaged Books

• Accrual of overdue charges apply (see above)
• A flat replacement cost of $50 is charged for each lost or damaged book.**
• A $10 processing fee is assessed for each lost or damaged book.**

*Overdue accrual rates may be discontinued if/when books are reported as lost before the $10 maximum fine is reached,
**This charge is waived upon the item's undamaged return.

Maximum: Patrons who have accrued $10.00 in fines or fees are automatically blocked from checking items out from the library.

Payments: Fines and fees may be paid by the following methods:

• in cash in the library.
• by credit card in the Business Office with a form obtained at the library's Circulation Desk.

20191107 - rrh

Notifications from the Library

An email address is required for registration as a guest patron of the library. This email address is used for all library notifications, including:

• Courtesy notices of upcoming due date
• Overdue notices
• Confirmation of Holds placed

20170302 - rrh