A Note on Terminology and Biblical Studies Resources
Bibliography items are listed alphabetically at the end of the research paper. Footnote references are items referred to in the body of the paper.
For specific Biblical Studies resources and tools that are not expressly covered by Turabian, the Society of Biblical Literature (SBL) guide is used. The SBL style guide builds upon Turabian and provides reference for citing subject specific material that may not fit within the basic formating of Chicago/Turabian.
Citing eBooks
Citing eBooks is the same as citing physical book, so follow the examples and instructions below. You must also cite the digital source.
From a Database
At the end of the citation add the name of the database. In Bibliography, it follows the period after the publication date. In a Footnote, it follows a comma after a page number.
From the Web
At the end of the citation add the full URL. In Bibliography, it follows the the period after the publication date. In a Footnote, it follows a comma after a page number.
From an eBook app (Apple, Amazon, or similar)
Apps often do not have page numbers. Instead of page numbers, identify the location by chapter name or section number. In Bibliography, it follows the the period after the publication date. In a Footnote, it follows a comma after a page number.
Single Author OR Editor
Author
Bibliography:
Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Title of the Book: Subtitle of the Book. Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication.
Footnote:
1. Author's First and Last Names, Title of Book: Subtitle of the Book (Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication, page number.
Example of Single Author
Bibliography:
Hauerwas, Stanley. The Peaceable Kingdom: A Primer in Christian Ethics. Notre Dame, Ind: University of Notre Dame Press, 1983
Footnote:
1. Stanley Hauerwas, The Peaceable Kingdom: A Primer in Christian Ethics (Notre Dame, Ind: University of Notre Dame Press, 1983), 75.
Editor
Bibliography:
Editor's Last Name, Editor's First Name, ed. Title of the Book: Subtitle of the Book. Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication.
Footnote:
1. Editor's First and Last Names, ed., Title of Book: Subtitle of the Book (Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication, page number.
Example of Single Editor
Just like a single author, but insert the following after the editor's name: , ed.
Multiple Authors
Bibliography:
Author #1's Last Name, Author #1's First Name, and Author #2's First and Last Names. Title of the Book: Subtitle of the Book. Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication.
note: , and separate list of authors from the last author named. The pattern follows that of single author.
Footnote:
1. Author #1's First and Last Names and Author #2's First and Last Names, Title of Book: Subtitle of the Book (Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication, page number.
note: , and separate list of authors from the last author named. The pattern follows that of single author.
Example of Multiple Authors
Bibliography:
Thorsen, Don, and Keith Reeves. What Christians Believe About the Bible: A Concise Guide for Students. Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Academic, 2012.
Footnote:
1. Don Thorsen and Keith Reeves, What Christians Believe About the Bible: A Concise Guide for Students (Grand Rapids, MI: Baker Academic, 2012), 127.
Multiple Editors
Follow the temple for multiple authors, but place , eds. after the last editor is listed.
Book with Author AND Editor
Bibliography:
Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Title of the Book: Subtitle of the Book. Edited by Editor's First and Last Names. Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication.
Footnote:
1. Author's First and Last Names, Title of Book: Subtitle of the Book, ed. Editor's First and Last Names (Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication, page number.
Chapter in Edited Book
Bibliography:
Chapter Author's Last Name, Chapter Author's First Name. "Title of Chapter: Subtitle of Chapter." In Title of the Book: Subtitle of the Book, edited by Editor's First and Last Names, page range. Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication.
Footnote:
1. Chapter Author's First and Last Names, "Title of Chapter: Subtitle of Chapter," in Title of Book: Subtitle of the Book, ed. Editor's First and Last Names (Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication), page range.
Example of a Chapter in an Edited Book
Bibliography:
McGrath , Alister E. "A Particularist View : a Post-Enlightenment Approach." In Four Views on Salvation in a Pluralistic World, edited by Dennis Okholm and Timothy R. Phillips. Grand Rapids, Mich.: Zondervan, 1996.
Footnote:
1. Alister E. McGrath, "A Particularist View : a Post-Enlightenment Approach," in Four Views on Salvation in a Pluralistic World, eds. Dennis Okholm and Timothy R. Phillips (Grand Rapids, Mich.: Zondervan, 1996), 151.
Edition Numbers
Bibliography:
Author's Last Name, Author's First Name. Title of the Book: Subtitle of the Book. Edition Number ed. Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication.
Footnote:
1. Author's First and Last Names, Title of Book: Subtitle of the Book Edition Number ed. (Place of Publication: Publisher's Name, Date of Publication, page number.