LibGuides: Psychology and Counseling Guide: Finding Articles & Journals

Databases in Psychology

Here are some of the databases that are appropriate for your subject. In them you will find the journals and articles for your research.

Hint: Read the database description. Some are more narrowly focused than others. Also, if it says "View more results", it means there are more databases than just those listed here.

If you choose to "View More Results" (found below the list of databases), just be sure to set the "subject" in dropdown menu.

Journals by Title

Browse Journals by Subject
Select your discipline, possibly narrow further by sub-discipline, and then select a journal.
Browse Journal Titles A-Z
If you have already identified a journal or a specific article in a journal and need to know where you might get access, search for the journal using our Browse Journals by Title tool. This will let you know if we own or have access to the journal, which issues we have, and if it's in print or online. If we have electronic access to articles in the journal, you will be provided with links directly to that title in one of our databases.

Journal Collections in Psychology

Annual Review of Psychology
Full-text articles from 1996 to present.
more...less...
The Annual Review of Psychology, in publication since 1950, covers the significant developments in the field of psychology, including: biological bases of behavior, sensation and perception, cognitive processes, animal learning and behavior, human development, psychopathology, clinical and counseling psychology, social psychology, personality, environmental psychology, community psychology, and more.

It is important to critically examine sources to determine their usefulness to your assignment. A quick, easy way to evaluate sources is to apply the CRAAP test.

Article or Website Evaluation Form
A checklist for students. It is used to evaluate websites and questionable articles. Easily attached to the back of papers and used to justify using questionable or non-peer reviewed articles and websites.

CURRENCY

When was the information written?
When was the information revised or updated?

RELEVANCE

Does the information relate to your topic or answer your research question?
Is the information written at an appropriate level (scholarly, popular, etc.)?

AUTHORITY

What are the author's credentials, qualifications, affiliations, and experiences?

ACCURACY

Are valid sources cited?
Is the information reviewed or refereed?
Are there any spelling or grammar errors?

PURPOSE

Is the information written to inform, teach, sell, entertain, or persuade?
Does the author indicate a purpose, or goal, and is it achieved?
Is there any bias, opinion, judgment, etc., expressed?

Psychology and Counseling Guide

It is important to critically examine sources to determine their usefulness to your assignment. A quick, easy way to evaluate sources is to apply the CRAAP test.

CURRENCY

When was the information written?

When was the information revised or updated?

RELEVANCE

Does the information relate to your topic or answer your research question?

Is the information written at an appropriate level (scholarly, popular, etc.)?

AUTHORITY

What are the author's credentials, qualifications, affiliations, and experiences?

ACCURACY

Are valid sources cited?

Is the information reviewed or refereed?

Are there any spelling or grammar errors?

PURPOSE

Is the information written to inform, teach, sell, entertain, or persuade?

Does the author indicate a purpose, or goal, and is it achieved?

Is there any bias, opinion, judgment, etc., expressed?