Quantitative and Qualitative Research
To find other material similar to this, follow these these instructions.
While in the library catalog (advanced search page) or an eBook database, enter either "Quantitative Research" or "Qualitative Research" in the top search box. Change that dropdown to "SU Subject Terms". Use the "filters" to narrow to "eBooks" and set the language to "English". Read the "subjects" and abstract to understand the nature of each book.
METHODOLOGY Qualitative Research
Culturally Responsive Methodologies by
"Culturally Responsive Methodology puts forward a new position from which to navigate our research in the hope that we can contribute to a more respectful and humble way of working with all peoples. These new methodologies require the researcher to develop relationships that may enable them to intimately come to respect and know the "Other" with whom they seek to study. Such a process of reciprocity challenges traditional research notions of distance and neutrality, opening up instead streams of research that call for engagement through the establishment of relational discourses. The chapters included in the book show how the researchers find, discover, and invent methodology that benefits both the researcher and subject, from their insider knowledge and from the epistemology of others. Culturally Responsive Methodologies is ideally suited for qualitative research work and therefore would be used in Research Qualitative Methods courses. The book will also appeal to researchers, doctoral students, teacher educators and educators throughout the world who share an interest in culturally responsive research and practice"--Provided by publisher.
Introduction to Qualitative Research Methods by
"An informative real-world guide to studying the "why" of human behavior Introduction to Qualitative Research Methods is a practical, comprehensive guide to the collection and presentation of qualitative data. Unique in the market, this book describes the entire research process - from design through writing - illustrated by examples of real, complete qualitative work that clearly demonstrates how methods are used in actual practice. This updated fourth edition includes all new case studies, with additional coverage of mixed methods, non-sociological settings, funding, and a sample interview guide. The studies profiled are accompanied by observation field notes, and the text includes additional readings for both students and instructors. More than just theory, this guide is designed to give you a real-world practitioner's view of how qualitative research is handled every step of the way. Many different disciplines rely on qualitative research as a method of inquiry, to gain an in-depth understanding of human behavior and the governing forces behind it. Qualitative research asks "why" and "how," and the data is frequently complex and difficult to measure. This book shows you how to effectively handle qualitative work, regardless of where it's being applied. Understand the strengths and limitations of qualitative data Learn how experts work around common methodological issues Compare actual field notes to the qualitative studies they generated Examine the full range of qualitative methods throughout the research process Whether you're studying sociology, psychology, marketing, or any number of other fields, especially in the social and behavioral sciences, human behavior is the central concern of your work. So what drives human behavior? That's what qualitative research helps to explain. Introduction to Qualitative Research Methods gives you the foundation you need to begin seeking answers"--Publisher's description.
The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research by
"The Oxford Handbook of Qualitative Research presents a comprehensive and student-friendly overview of the field of qualitative research and is intended for students of all levels, faculty, and researchers across the social sciences. It provides strong focus on methods instruction with coverage of theoretical approaches, analysis, writing, evaluation, and the politics of research"-- Provided by publisher
Qualitative Interviewing by
Qualitative interviewing has today become one of the most common research methods across the human and social sciences, but it is an approach that comes in different guises. Qualitative Interviewing will help its readers write, represent, understand, and critique qualitative interview research in its many forms as currently practiced. The book begins with a theoretically informed introduction to qualitative interviewing by presenting a variegated landscape of how conversations have been used for knowledge-producing purposes. Particular attention is paid to the complementary positions of experience-focused interviewing (phenomenological positions) and language-focused interviewing (discourse-oriented positions), which focus on interview talk as reports (of the experiences of interviewees) and accounts (occasioned by the situation of interviewing), respectively. The following chapters address various ways of designing qualitative interview studies and a guide to writing up the methodological procedures and results of an interview study. The book concludes with a presentation of the most common errors in interview reports, offering a range of solutions and strategies for evaluating research findings based on qualitative interviews.
Qualitative Research in Practice by
Part One The Nature of Qualitative Inquiry; 1 Introduction to Qualitative Research; The Nature of Qualitative Research; Distinguishing Among Types of Qualitative Research Design; Mixed Methods; The Design of a Qualitative Study; Summary; References; 2 Assessing and Evaluating Qualitative Research; What to Look for When Evaluating Qualitative Research; Ensuring for "Quality" in Qualitative Research; Internal Validity or Credibility; Reliability or Dependability; External Validity/Generalizability or Transferability
Ethical IssuesSummary; References; Part Two Examples of Qualitative Research for Discussion and Analysis; 3 Roles Traditional Healers Play in Cancer Treatment in Malaysia: Implications for Health Promotion and Education; Introduction; Materials and Methods; Results; Discussion; Acknowledgements; References; How Context Shapes the Design and Implementation of a Qualitative Study; 4 The Influence of Mentorship and Role Models on University Women Leaders' Career Paths to University Presidency; Purpose Statement; Literature Review; Method; Findings; Discussion; References; Appendix; Author Note
Article CitationMutual Reflections on Conceptual Frameworks in Qualitative Research; Phenomenology; 5 Hiking Leisure: Generating a Different Existence Within Everyday Life; Introduction; The Concept of Leisure Affordance; Method; Results; Discussion; Conclusion; Declaration of Conflicting Interests; Funding; References; Author Biographies; Hiking the Phenomenological Psychological Method; 6 Being In-Between: The Lived Experience of Becoming a Prosthesis User Following the Loss of a Leg; Method; Participants and Setting; Interviews; Ethical Considerations; Data Analysis; Findings
Living on StandbyStanding on Your Own 2 Feet Again-Tall and High; Becoming One With the Prosthesis; A Test of Stamina; Re-Conquering the World; Discussion; Conclusion; Declaration of Conflicting Interests; Funding; References; Author Biographies; Caught Up Between Ethics and Methodology: Reflections Addressing the Unintended Presence of a Participant's Partner Duringa Phenomenological Interview; Ethnography; 7 Boxing Culture and Serious Leisure Among North American Youth: An Embodied Ethnography; Serious Leisure; Methods; Amateur Boxing as a Leisure Activity; Why Do You Box?
Amateur Boxing as Casual and Serious LeisureDiscussion; Limitations, Conclusion, and Directions for Future Research; References; Author Note; Article Citation; Embodied Ethnography as a Research Approach: Further Reflections and Insights on Boxing as Serious Leisure; 8 A Sojourn Experience in the Land of Fire and Ice: Examining Cultural Competence and Employee Well-Being Through an Autoethnographic Exploration; My Autoethnographic Process; My Experience as Sojourner
METHODOLOGY Quantitative Research
Data analysis with SPSS software : variability, probability, and the normal distribution by
1. Variability -- 2. Understanding and using probability -- 3. The normal distribution -- Index.
The Oxford Handbook of Quantitative Methods, Volume 1 by
Research today demands the application of sophisticated and powerful research tools. Fulfilling this need, The Oxford Handbook of Quantitative Methods is the complete tool box to deliver the most valid and generalizable answers to today's complex research questions. It is a one-stop source for learning and reviewing current best-practices in quantitative methods as practiced in the social, behavioral, and educational sciences. Comprising two volumes, this handbook covers a wealth of topics related to quantitative research methods. It begins with essential philosophical and ethical issues relat.
The Oxford Handbook of Quantitative Methods, Volume 2, Statistical Analysis by
Research today demands the application of sophisticated and powerful research tools. Fulfilling this need, The Oxford Handbook of Quantitative Methods is the complete tool box to deliver the most valid and generalizable answers to today's complex research questions. It is a one-stop source for learning and reviewing current best-practices in quantitative methods as practiced in the social, behavioral, and educational sciences. Comprising two volumes, this handbook covers a wealth of topics related to quantitative research methods. It begins with essential philosophical and ethical issues relat.
Statistics and Causality by
A one-of-a-kind guide to identifying and dealing with modern statistical developments in causality Written by a group of well-known experts, Statistics and Causality: Methods for Applied Empirical Research focuses on the most up-to-date developments in statistical methods in respect to causality. Illustrating the properties of statistical methods to theories of causality, the book features a summary of the latest developments in methods for statistical analysis of causality hypotheses. The book is divided into five accessible and independent parts. The first part introduces the foundations of causal structures and discusses issues associated with standard mechanistic and difference-making theories of causality. The second part features novel generalizations of methods designed to make statements concerning the direction of effects. The third part illustrates advances in Granger-causality testing and related issues. The fourth part focuses on counterfactual approaches and propensity score analysis. Finally, the fifth part presents designs for causal inference with an overview of the research designs commonly used in epidemiology. Statistics and Causality: Methods for Applied Empirical Research also includes: - New statistical methodologies and approaches to causal analysis in the context of the continuing development of philosophical theories - End-of-chapter bibliographies that provide references for further discussions and additional research topics - Discussions on the use and applicability of software when appropriate Statistics and Causality: Methods for Applied Empirical Research is an ideal reference for practicing statisticians, applied mathematicians, psychologists, sociologists, logicians, medical professionals, epidemiologists, and educators who want to learn more about new methodologies in causal analysis. The book is also an excellent textbook for graduate-level courses in causality and qualitative logic. Wolfgang Wiedermann, PhD, is Assistant Professor in the Department of Educational, School, and Counseling Psychology at the University of Missouri, Columbia. His research interests include the development of methods for direction dependence analysis and causal inference, the development and evaluation of methods for person-oriented research, and methods for intensive longitudinal data. Alexander von Eye, PhD, is Professor Emeritus of Psychology at Michigan State University. His research interests include statistical methods, categorical data analysis, and human development. Dr. von Eye is Section Editor for the Encyclopedia of Statistics in Behavioral Science and is the coauthor of Log-Linear Modeling: Concepts, Interpretation, and Application, both published by Wiley.
METHODOLOGY Mixed Method Research
Multimethod Research, Causal Mechanisms, and Case Studies by
"An innovative and accessible textbook on multimethod and case-study research. Multimethod research has become indispensable to doing social science, and is essential to anyone who conducts large-scale research projects in political science, sociology, education, comparative law, or business. This authoritative and accessible book offers the first truly comprehensive approach to multimethod and case-study research, and is particularly aimed at students of qualitative methods in the social sciences. Walking step-by-step through these cutting-edge tools and techniques, Gary Goertz introduces a new integrated approach that unites three corners of a powerful research triad--causal mechanisms, cross-case causal inference, and within-case causal inference. He explains how the investigation of causal mechanisms and the making of within-case causal inference are the central goals of multimethod and case study research, and provides a logic for connecting case studies and causal mechanism analysis with cross-case analysis, whether they are statistical analyses, experiments, or QCA. In addition, Goertz analyzes how one can generalize using case studies, as well as systematically test game-theoretic and other models using multiple case studies. Provides a fully integrated approach to multimethod and case-study research An essential resource for students and researchers in political science, sociology, education, law, and business Covers constraint causal mechanism, game theory and case studies, QCA, and the use of case studies to systematically test and generalize theories An ideal textbook for a first-year graduate course in methods or research design "-- Provided by publisher
The Oxford Handbook of Multimethod and Mixed Methods Research Inquiry by
"The Oxford Handbook of Multi and Mixed Methods Research Inquiry is designed to offer a range of innovative knowledge- building perspectives and methods tools with the goal of enhancing new ways of asking and addressing complex research questions. The Handbook offers multiple quantitative and qualitative theoretical and interdisciplinary visions and practice. Each chapter is written in clear and concise language by leading scholars in the field. The Handbook reflects the most current thinking and scholarship on emerging multi and mixed methods research inquiry within and across the disciplines. The Handbook aims to become an exceptional, timely, and critical research benchmark. It addresses interdisciplinary and complex questions that traverse a range of research communities both in and outside the academy, and its empirical focus demonstrates the synergistic of multi and mixed methods research inquiry for answering complex research questions"--Publisher's website