Reference Books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, etc.)
A Dictionary of Diet and Exercise by
This accessible dictionary is packed full of authoritative information on foods and drinks, types of diet, sports and activities, exercises, physiology, training methods, and calorie requirements. The new edition includes over 200 new entries covering advances in the science of health and diet such as genetic disposition and nutrigenomics, high-profile diets such as the five–two and palaeo, fitness tracking and technologies, and developments in food labelling and the psychology of diet and fitness.
Anatomy Essentials for Dummies by
The core concepts you need to ace Anatomy Perfect for those just starting out or returning to Anatomy after some time away, Anatomy Essentials For Dummies focuses on core concepts taught (and tested on!) in a typical Anatomy course. From names and technical terms to how the body works, you'll skip the suffering and score high marks at exam time with the help of Anatomy Essentials For Dummies. Designed for students who want the key concepts and a few examples--without the review, ramp-up, and anecdotal content--Anatomy Essentials For Dummies is a perfect solution for exam-cramming, homework help, and reference. A useful and handy reference to the anatomy of the human body Perfect for a refresher or a quick reference Serves as an excellent review to score higher at exam time If you have some knowledge of anatomy and want to polish your skills, Anatomy Essentials For Dummies focuses on just the core concepts you need to understand this fascinating topic.
Kinematic Analysis of Human Movement by
After a quick survey of the famous pioneers of human movement analysis and the actual needs in different domains, this book presents the main types of systems available on the market (with the pros and cons), and then details the most widely used: the optoelectronic systems using passive markers. The theoretical background for joint kinematics calculation is explained, specifying the international standardization for parameters reports. One chapter is dedicated to measurement errors and their management, followed by several applications, mostly in the clinical field.
Anatomy and Physiology for Nurses at a Glance by
Anatomy and Physiology for Nurses at a Glance is theperfect companion for study and revision for pre-registrationnursing and healthcare students, from the publishers of themarket-leading at a Glance series. Combining superb illustrations with accessible and informativetext, this book covers all the body systems and key conceptsencountered from the start of the pre-registration nursing orhealthcare programme, and is ideal for anyone looking for anoverview of the human body. Providing a concise, visual overview ofanatomy and physiology and the related biological sciences, thisbook will help.
Physiology by
This revised and updated edition of Physiology at a Glance features clear and concise illustrations, memorable data tables, and easy-to-read text, to provide a thorough introduction to physiology that integrates seamlessly with the medical school curriculum. Physiology at a Glance breaks the topic down into its core components, dealing with structures of the body from cellular level to composite systems. Each chapter focuses on an element of the body and explores vital concepts to aid students at all levels of their training. Physiology at a Glance: * Introduces basic biological principles in easy-to-follow spreads, followed by thoroughly revised and updated systems-based chapters * Features completely revised or brand new chapters and figures, including introductory chapters on homeostasis, blood, haemostasis and immunological defence mechanisms * Is fully supported by a companion website at www.ataglanceseries.com/physiology featuring online access to over 200 self-assessment questions from the book, downloadable flashcards, and revision notes With its straightforward approach to explaining the functions of the body, Physiology at a Glance provides medical, dental, health science and biomedical students with a thorough understanding of an often complex subject. This title is also available as a mobile App from MedHand Mobile Libraries. Buy it now from Google Play or the MedHand Store.
Clinical Anatomy by
THE THIRTEENTH EDITION OF THE CLASSIC TEXTBOOK, FIRST PUBLISHED IN 1960 Written by one of the great teachers of anatomy, the thirteenth edition of Clinical Anatomy continues to provide thousands of medical students, postgraduate trainees and junior doctors across the world with essential anatomical information within a clinical setting. It is particularly appropriate for those preparing for the Intercollegiate Membership Examination of the Royal Colleges of Surgeons (I-MRCS). Professor Harold Ellis is again joined by Professor Vishy Mahadevan to provide detailed, easy-to-follow structured text suitable for anatomy students and trainees of all levels. Fully revised and updated with many new illustrations, this new edition features for the first time, several anatomical drawings overlaid on a living anatomy model to provide detailed topographical orientation and accurate surface representation. The companion website at www.ellisclinicalanatomy.co.uk/13edition contains digital flashcards of all the illustrations and photographs contained in the book - ideal for revision and teaching purposes.
Color Atlas of Human Anatomy by
The seventh edition of this classic work makes mastering large amounts of complex information much less daunting. These are some of the many user-friendly features of this book: More than 200 outstanding full-color illustrations and 100 new clinical correlations Side-by-side images with updated callouts An overview of anatomical terms and their Latin equivalents in each section Emphasizing clinical anatomy, this atlas integrates current information from a wide range of medical disciplines into the discussions of the locomotor system, including: General anatomy The systematic anatomy of the locomotor system The topography of peripheral nerves and vessels in relation to the musculoskeletal system Volume 1: Locomotor System and its companions Volume 2: Internal Organs and Volume 3: Nervous System and Sensory Organs comprise a must-have resource for students of medicine, dentistry, and all allied health fields.
Human Growth and Development by
Offering a study of biological, biomedical and biocultural approaches, the second edition of "Human Growth and Development "is a valued resource for researchers, professors and graduate students across the interdisciplinary area of human development. With timely chapters on obesity, diet / lifestyle, and genetics, this editionais the only publication offering a biological, biomedical and biocultural approach. The second edition of "Human Growth and Development" includes contributions from the well-known experts in the field and is the most reputable, comprehensive resource available. New chapters discussing genomics and epigenetics, developmental origins, body proportions and health and the brain and neurological development.Presented in the form of lectures to facilitate student programmingUpdated content highlighting the latest research on the relationship between early growth and later (adult) outcomes: the developmental origins of health and disease."
Paramedics! by
"This book is set out in a logical and progressive style allowing students to access required chapters with ease. The test yourself questions allow for a number of different learning styles and will prove an invaluable aid for both learning and revision for paramedic students." Mark Millins, Senior Lecturer Paramedic Science, Teesside University, UK "I found this to be a highly beneficial and interesting resource to test my own knowledge of the basics and the underlying anatomy and physiology of body systems. I would recommend this text to all student Paramedics whilst in the learning phase." Gemma Chapman, Student Paramedic, Brighton University, UK. Paramedics! Test yourself in Anatomy and Physiology is the essential self-test resource to help paramedics revise and excel in their anatomy and physiology modules and exams. Crammed full of over 400 questions, this unique book also includes fully explained answers and explanations to help consolidate learning as you test yourself using: Anatomy artwork Multiple choice questions True or false questions Fill in the blank questions Labelling exercises An extensive glossary explains all the key terms Each main body system has its own chapter, so you can get in depth practice for your exams. Body systems covered include: Integumentary system Nervous system and special senses Cardiovascular system Digestive system Immune and lymphatic systems Musculoskeletal system Endocrine system Respiratory system Urinary system Reproductive systems
Color Atlas of Physiology by
The seventh edition of this classic atlas makes mastering large amounts of complex information much easier. It provides a thorough review of everything medical students need to know to pass their pre-clinical physiology exams. Section topics include the nerves and muscles, blood, respiration, the cardiovascular system, digestion, and reproduction. This revised and expanded edition also features entirely new material on ageing, obesity, the urinary bladder, and cell physiology of the skeletal muscles. The many user-friendly features of this book include: Almost 200 outstanding full-color illustrations and 10 new color plates Side-by-side images with callouts Visual highlighting of clinically relevant and pathophysiologic information with clinical key words on every page In a compact, user-friendly format, Color Atlas of Physiology, Seventh Edition, is an invaluable and ideal study guide and reference for medical students preparing for their physiology examinations.