Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Kinesiology Guide: Glossary

Subject guide is for Kinesiology Majors.

Terminology

Find relevant search terms for Kinesiology here:

Search Tip

Acronyms List – Look up acronyms (https://www.acronymslist.com/) to find related names of organizations and common abbreviations. Select Medical Acronyms to find medical terms and organizations by their acronyms.

Search Tools and Resources

- PubMed is a free search engine accessing primarily the MEDLINE database of references and abstracts on life sciences and biomedical topics. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. (https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/)

PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. NIH NLM.

MEDLINE - (MEDLARS Online) is a bibliographic database of life sciences and biomedical information. Compiled by the NLM, it is freely available on the Internet and searchable via PubMed. (MEDLARS = Medical Literature Analysis and Retrieval System)

MedlinePlus.gov – web site for patients offering reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free in layman’s terms. No advertisements. Maintained by the NIH NLM.

​ MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) – the NLM controlled vocabulary thesaurus used for indexing articles for PubMed

 

NCBI Bookshelf – a collection of freely accessible, downloadable, online versions of selected biomedical books.

Organizations (Who's Responsible?)

National Institutes of Health (NIH) is the primary agency of the US government responsible for biomedical and public health research. It is part of the US Department of Health and Human Services with facilities mainly located in Bethesda, Maryland.

US National Library of Medicine (NLM) – A branch of the NIH, it is the world's largest medical library.

The National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) is part of the NLM and houses a series of databases relevant to biotechnology and biomedicine.