Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Kinesiology Guide: Databases

Subject guide is for Kinesiology Majors.

Finding scholarly articles in Kinesiology

When you need reliable scholarly articles on Kinesiology we recommend using the following:

  • Discovery Service (Find subscription resources available through the Darling Library.)
  • PubMed (Learn more on the PubMed tab of this guide.)
  • Google Scholar. (Learn more about Google Scholar below.)

What is scholarly? What does peer-reviewed mean? Why does it matter? Learn more...

WorldCat Discovery Service

The Discovery Service search box on our home page allows you to Discover All of our resources all at once. Here, you can easily start with a basic search by entering any keywords. 

NOTE: You will also discover items that we don't have here on site but are held in "libraries worldwide". You may request these items through Interlibrary Loan

Click the Advanced Search link to get more specific. Be sure to check the filters to limit your list by format.

Again, you will also "discover" items that we don't have (unless you check the Hope International University Library filter).


Click on the Databases tab to select a database that covers a specific subject area (such as Kinesiology). In most cases, you will be required to login to access the articles in databases found there. However, PubMed is a free service and many full-text articles are essentially open access.


If you want to look up a specific journal by its title, you can use a Browse Journal Titles search in the Find Items dropdown menu.

20191029 - rrh

Google Scholar

Recommended reading:

Google Scholar vs. PubMed. Shariff, S. Z., Bejaimal, S. A., Sontrop, J. M., Iansavichus, A. V., Haynes, R. B., Weir, M. A., & Garg, A. X. (2013). Retrieving clinical evidence: a comparison of PubMed and Google Scholar for quick clinical searches. Journal of Medical Internet Research.

DOI Information

DOI is the Digital Object Identifier that APA style requires you to include in your references when available.

What's in a database?

Databases contain all kinds of articles, editorial opinions, book reviews, etc.  For the most part, these items are first published in periodicals (print and/or online). So to break it down...

Databases-Articles-Periodicals-Small-graphic
Graphic created by Joshua Knopf, 2019.

  • Periodicals are publications such as magazines, journals, and newspapers that are published at regular intervals whether it be daily, weekly, monthly, quarterly, annually or otherwise. In print format, several articles and/or news items are released together in one discrete issue. These may also be published online in various formats. 
  • Articles are published in periodicals. 
  • Databases aggregate many periodicals at the article level allowing cross searching of several publications simultaneously by subject, author, or other search terms.

Good to know...

  • ‚ÄčChapters are found in books (monographs) that are generally published outside of a chronological structure.Some books are edited works with many individual authors contributing chapters on an established topic. Some databases may also include chapters.
  • Book reviews are a specific kind of article in which the author critiques books and are usually published in periodicals. Therefore, databases often include book reviews.

20191025 - rrh

Print Periodicals

Periodicals are arranged alphabetically on the periodical shelving on both the 1st and 2nd floors of the HIU Darling Library.
Find more recent periodicals on the 1st floor and older periodicals on the 2nd floor.

Helpful Hint: The periodical shelves on the 1st floor are hinged. Tilt the shelf up to find more periodicals hidden behind the slanted shelf!