LibGuides: Faculty Guide: Articles and Databases

Databases at HIU

The Darling Library subscribes to a wide variety of research databases. Some are broad in scope and some pertain to specific subject areas.

Use the first dropdown to select the subject. Use the second dropdown to select the resource format.

A-Z List of Databases
Alphabetical list of subscription research databases.

Journals at HIU

The Darling Library subscribes to several print and online journals that are not available in our subscription databases.

Browse Journals by Subject
Select your discipline, possibly narrow further by sub-discipline, and then select a journal.
Browse Journal Titles A-Z
If you have already identified a journal or a specific article in a journal and need to know where you might get access, search for the journal using our Browse Journals by Title tool. This will let you know if we own or have access to the journal, which issues we have, and if it's in print or online. If we have electronic access to articles in the journal, you will be provided with links directly to that title in one of our databases.

Linking Articles in Canvas

You can provide a direct link from your Online course in Canvas to an article in a subscription database or eJournal.

Once you have found an article, follow the instructions in the database hosting service for copying a “permanent” URL to paste into your reading list. (Do NOT use the link in browser’s address bar. The browser displays an address that is associated with the active session and will not work later.)

Examples:

ProQuest – Copy the Document URL near the bottom of the full-text article.
EBSCOhost – Copy the permalink on the right side of the page.
SAGE journals - Copy the link below the title of the article.

Students will be required to log in through the library's proxy server when clicking on these links.

Placing a pdf of an article into Canvas may be a violation of our license and a copyright violation.