Intercultural Studies Guide: Websites

AILLA is a digital archive of recordings and texts in and about the indigenous languages of Latin America. The heart of the collection is recordings, both audio and video, in a wide range of genres: narratives, chants, oratory, conversations, songs, and more. Many recordings are transcribed and translated into Spanish, English or Portuguese. The archive also contains a wealth of language documentation materials: grammars, dictionaries, ethnographies, and field notes. The collection includes teaching materials for bilingual education and language revitalization programs.

The DOBES Archive contains language documentation data from a great variety of languages from around the world that are in danger of becoming extinct. Detailed historical and cultural information, as well as images, videos, and language samples, are provided for roughly 60 languages.

Collection featuring audio, video, and text samples from dozens of endangered languages as well as maps, language information, and information about depositors. Content is uploaded by field researchers. Operated by the SOAS Library at the University of London.

Ethnologue: Languages of the World is a comprehensive reference work cataloging all of the world’s known living languages. Since 1951, the Ethnologue has been an active research project involving hundreds of linguists and other researchers around the world. It is widely regarded to be the most comprehensive source of information of its kind. The information in the Ethnologue will be valuable to anyone with an interest in cross-cultural communication, bilingualism, literacy rates, language planning and language policy, language development, language relationships, endangered languages, writing systems and to all with a general curiosity about languages.

Endangered language oral literature collections recorded over the last 80 years. Collaboration between Cambridge University and Yale University.

Our mission is to produce and present world-class research that fuels emerging mission movements and leaders. Our highest priority is serving and empowering evangelical leaders in the developing world. We often work within partnerships, serving with like-minded organizations and associates around the world.

"Operation World" is found here.

Since 1979, we have been committed to serving the “least of these” in Asia and Africa, often in places where no one else is serving, so they can experience the love of God for the first time. GFA supports national workers serving as the hands and feet of Christ in four main ways. Sponsoring national missionaries to minister to people’s needs, sponsoring children, investing in community development and helping families in need of care or during disasters.

Joshua Project is a research initiative seeking to highlight the ethnic people groups of the world with the fewest followers of Christ. Accurate, updated ethnic people group information is critical for understanding and completing the Great Commission. Revelation 5:9 and 7:9-10 show that there will be some from every tribe, tongue, nation and people before the Throne.

The Voice of the Martyrs (VOM) is a missionary organization that serves persecuted Christians in the world’s most difficult and dangerous places to be a Christian. Richard and Sabina Wurmbrand founded VOM after being imprisoned for their Christian witness in Communist Romania. For more than 50 years, VOM has been dedicated to inspiring all believers to a biblical faith by encouraging their commitment to Christ and the fulfillment of his Great Commission no matter the cost.