Creating References and Bibliographies
Word Processor Integration
Zotero has a few different "plug-ins" so that you can connect your Zotero account to your word processor. Follow the links to find the right plug-in.
If you just want to quickly add references to a paper, email, or blog post, Zotero's Quick Copy is the easiest way to go. Simply select items in the center column and drag them into any text field. Zotero will automatically create a formatted bibliography for you. To copy citations instead of references, hold down Shift at the start of the drag.
You can also copy / paste as you would in most word processors.
Create Bibliography/Reference Page
To create a bibliography or a citations list in Zotero, highlight one or more references and then right-click (or control-click on Macs) to select “Create Bibliography from Selected Item(s)…”. Then select a citation style for your citation/bibliography format and choose either to create a list of Citations/Notes or a Bibliography. Then choose one of the following four ways to create your citation/bibliography:
-
Save as RTF will allow you to save the bibliography as a rich text file.
-
Save as HTML will allow you to save the bibliography as a HTML file for viewing in a web browser. This format will also embed metadata allowing other Zotero users viewing the document to capture bibliographic information.
-
Copy to Clipboard will allow you to save the bibliography to your clipboard to paste into any text field.
-
Print will send your bibliography straight to a printer.
