History

Resource Sheet for HIS 3700 History of the Roman World in 1st Cent

HINT:  pdf of this is on the bottom of the page

DATABASES (PRIMARY RESOURCES – texts or images)

Loebolus – [The Loeb Classical Library Series are critical editions of Greek and Latin authors. This is a collection of the public domain versions of these works. They write on a variety of subjects and cover several centuries.]

1. Research the author to make sure it is 1^st century
2. Click title to read
3. Opposing pages are English translation and original language (either Greek or Latin)

Euro Docs – [use for looking up a period in Rome’s history OR to look up a topic.]

1. Click “Italy”
2. Click “Prehistory and Roman Empire”
3. Click “1st - 3^rd Century”
4. Pick your topic, author, or title.

Original Sources - [Use for finding historical documents.]

1. Log in, if you have to.
2. Try search but be as specific as possible.

Internet History Sourcebook (Fordham University) - [use for finding resources / books / documents / texts about history or life in 1^st century Rome]

1. On the left, select “Ancient”
2. Click “Rome”
3. Browse for material by subject women or military) or by time.

JSTOR - [use “collections” to find images of artifacts]

1. Log in.
2. From the upper right-hand corner, click “Browse” and select “Collections”
3. Under “Filter collections” enter terms you are looking for, e.g. Roman mosaic.
4. Within the chosen “collection” search again for your specific item.

DATABASES (SECONDARY RESOURCES – explanations of the past)

Oxford Reference Online – [use this collection of reference books to look up your topic and to find authors and titles of 1^st century works]

1. Log in
2. Click “Subject” in upper left corner
3. Click “Classical Studies”, “Archeaology”, “History”, “Religion”, or “Social Sciences”
4. Search for your topic in each of those subjects.

Cambridge University Press Journals – [use this collection of journals to find material on your topic.]

1. Log in
2. Filter the “All Subjects” to one that would be appropriate, e.g. “Classical Studies”
3. Now enter your topic in the “search and filter” search box.

ProQuest Databases – [use for finding academic articles (peer-reviewed) about any topic on Rome]

1. Log in
2. In the top search box, enter Rome
3. In the second search box, enter a topic that needs clarification
4. Use limiters (date, “peer review”, “scholarly journals”, language, and document type)

EBSCO Databases – [use for finding academic articles (peer-reviewed) about any topic on Rome]

1. Log in
2. Select all and “continue”
3. In the top search box, enter Rome
4. In the second search box, enter a topic that needs clarification
5. Use limiters (date, “peer reviewed”, “academic journals”, language, and source types)

JSTOR - [Seach all their content for articles about ancient Rome.]

1. Log in, if you have to.
2. Enter search terms into the search box.
3. Under “Narrow Results” click “Articles”.
4. If you’d like, under “Journal Filter”, pick the fields of study of interest to you (archaeology, classical studies, etc.)
5. Scroll to bottom of page and click “Submit Advanced Search”

EBOOK COLLECTIONS (MIX OF PRIMARY AND SECONDARY)

ACLS Humanities eBooks

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)

eBook Central (ProQuest)

EBSCOHost eBook Collection

SELECT INDIVIDUAL CURRENT JOURNALS (SECONDARY RESOURCE)

 - These are available through our library homepage.

1. Go to: library.hiu.edu
2. Under “Find Items” (along the top), click “Browse Journals by Subject”
3. From the list of subjects, try “Arts and Humanities”, then “Classical Studies”

Antiquity – ISSN:

Classical Antiquity – ISSN:

Journal of Roman Studies – ISSN:

Journal of Roman Archaeology – ISSN:

Classical Journal – ISSN:

The Classical Quarterly – ISSN:

Greece and Rome – ISSN:

Classical World – ISSN: