LibGuides: Alumni: eBooks

Finding Books

Here are some of of the eBook collections that have material appropriate for your research. If you know a title, look for that, if not, search with a couple of keywords:

Cambridge Open Access eJournals and eBooks This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals and books in electronic format that are freely available (open access).
Christian Classics Ethereal Library (CCEL) This link opens in a new window
The Christian Classics Ethereal Library is a digital library of hundreds of classic Christian books selected for edification and education.
Country Studies This link opens in a new window
This collection contains electronic versions of eighty books originally sponsored by the U.S. Army and written by researchers affiliated with the Library’s Federal Research Division. Intended for a general audience, the studies provide descriptions and analyses of lesser-known countries or regions where U.S. military forces might be deployed.
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) This link opens in a new window
DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.

eScholarship
Scholarly research and publications affiliated with University of California scholars, research units, and publishing programs.

EuroDocs This link opens in a new window
EuroDocs: Online Sources for European History
Selected Transcriptions, Facsimiles and Translations
Links connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated.
In addition you will find video or sound files, maps, photographs or other imagery, databases, and other documentation.
The sources cover a broad range of historical happenings (political, economic, social and cultural).
The order of documents is chronological wherever possible.
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Founded in 2008, HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items. HathiTrust offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research, and other emerging services based on the combined collection. HathiTrust members steward the collection — the largest set of digitized books managed by academic and research libraries — under the aims of scholarly, not corporate, interests.
Loebolus This link opens in a new window
Over a century ago, James Loeb announced the founding of the Loeb Classical Library and his intention to bring the written treasures of the ancient Greek and Roman world “within the reach of all who care for the finer things in life.” Now it gives us great pleasure to welcome you – old friends and newcomers, scholars, students, and general readers alike – to the digital Loeb Classical Library, and to invite you to enjoy its Greek and Latin texts alongside English translations, in the familiar ways and in surprisingly new ones.

This database is of all the public domain, and thus freely available, versions of the Loeb Classical Library.

Many Books
A wide variety of books avaliable for downloading in a wide variety of formats from PDF to Kindle.

NCBI Bookshelf This link opens in a new window
Bookshelf provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare. Search, read, and discover.

Hint: Click "Browse Titles" and then search by topic

Open Access Digital Theological Library
The Open Access Digital Theological Library (OADTL) curates high-quality open access (free) books and articles in religious studies and related disciplines from publisher websites, institutional repositories, scholarly societies, archives, and stable public domain collections.
The collections are ecumenical, global, and interreligious and include materials in all languages.

Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window
Project Gutenberg is an online library of free eBooks.

Project Gutenberg was the first provider of free electronic books, or eBooks. Michael Hart, founder of Project Gutenberg, invented eBooks in 1971 and his memory continues to inspire the creation of eBooks and related content today.
Science Direct (Open Access) This link opens in a new window
Open Access journals, books, and reference material by Science Direct. From the left, choose the "domain"/discipline, then the sub-discipline. Then choose the material type. Lastly, search for a term in the search box.

Theological Commons
Princeton Theological Seminary is developing the Theological Commons in partnership with the Internet Archive, a nonprofit dedicated to building and maintaining a free and openly accessible online digital library. Princeton Theological Seminary shares in the vision and mission of building a digital library freely accessible to scholars, pastors, and other readers around the globe.
more...less...
Hosted by Princeton Theological Seminary.