LibGuides: Alumni: Study Aids

Bibles and Bible Study Tools

Bible Gateway
Freely read, research, and reference Scripture on your desktop, laptop, tablet, smartphone . . . anywhere; in more than 70 languages and more than 180 versions!
Bible History Online
This site is constantly being updated with the help of writers, editors, researchers, print artists, musicians, voice artists, admin support and programmers most of whom contribute to this effort anonymously.
Biblical Studies.org.uk
Purpose: To make high quality theological material available throughout the world, thus providing Bible teachers and pastors with the resources they need to spread the Gospel in their countries. This is achieved by digitising and uploading in co-operation with authors and publishers, rare and out-of-print theology books and articles. Over 21,000 articles are now available for free download.
Step Bible
STEP stands for 'Scripture Tools for Every Person' and is designed to give users across the world, particularly those in disadvantaged countries, free access to trustworthy Bible expertise. Created by Bible scholars at Tyndale House, Cambridge, UK, it is curated by a non-denominational body of scholars and other volunteers who are passionate about sharing accurate information on the Bible.
StudyLight.org
The largest collection of online Bible study tools and resources; maintained by Jeff Garrison, Johnson Bible College alum.

Original Languages Bibles and Tools

BHS - Hebrew Old Testament
The Biblia Hebraica Stuttgartensia (BHS) is the successor to the Biblia Hebraica edited by Rudolf Kittel. To this day, it is the only complete scholarly edition of the Codex Leningradensis and contains all significant text variants and proposals for correction in the critical apparatus.
LXX / Greek OT - Ralff's Septuagint
The Septuagint edition by Alfred Rahlfs has been an important basis of worldwide Septuagint research ever since it was first published in 1935. This edition was revised by the internationally renowned Septuagint researcher Robert Hanhart in 2006; in the course of this work, the text and apparatus were corrected and extended in well over a thousand instances.
NETS - New English Translation of the Septuagint
NETS is a new translation of the Greek Jewish Scriptures, entitled A New English Translation of the Septuagint and the Other Greek Translations Traditionally Included Under that Title (and abbreviated as NETS). This project is being carried out under the ægis of The International Organization for Septuagint and Cognate Studies (IOSCS). The translators are specialists in Septuagint studies. Their translations follow rigorous procedures established by the editors. Oxford University Press publishes the translation. An accompanying commentary series is also planned.
NA 28 - Greek New Testament
The 28th Edition of the Nestle-Aland with its unreached critical apparatus marks the standard and globally preeminent reference among Greek New Testament editions.
SBL Greek New Testament (downloadable)
The SBLGNT is edited by Michael W. Holmes, who utilized a wide range of printed editions, all the major critical apparatuses, and the latest technical resources and manuscript discoveries as he established the text. The result is a critically edited text that differs from the Nestle-Aland/United Bible Societies text in more than 540 variation units.

Theology

St Andrews Encyclopaedia of Theology
The St Andrews Encyclopaedia of Theology is a nascent online, free-to-access encyclopaedia of the highest academic standards, treating the full discipline of Theology with rigour and clarity.

Supported by St Mary’s College of the University of St Andrews and generously funded by the John Templeton Foundation, it will be comparable to, and to some extent modelled on, the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy, internationally recognized as a highly successful, authoritative resource and a driver of its discipline.
Theopedia
Lists of inks to external content including multimedia on theological topics.

Church History

Disciples of Christ Historical Society
"A general ministry of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) in the United States and Canada and interconnects all Stone-Campbell churches around the world. We serve as the primary archive and collective memory for our faith family. "
Biographical Dictionary of Chinese Christianity
by a group of China Scholars in 2005. Contributions from readers are welcome.
Dictionary of African Christian Biography
Contributions from readers are welcome.
Restoration Movement History
Restoration History pages maintained by Scott Harp.
Restoration Movement Pages ARCHIVES
Comprehensive website © 1995-2006 no long maintained by Hans Rollmann. Hosted on the Internet Archive WayBack Machine (web.archive.org.)

The ARDA: The Association of Religion Data Archives This link opens in a new window
The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion. Founded as the American Religion Data Archive in 1997 and going online in 1998, the initial archive was targeted at researchers interested in American religion. The targeted audience and the data collection have both greatly expanded since 1998, now including American and international collections submitted by the foremost religion scholars and research centers in the world. The ARDA is generously supported by the Lilly Endowment, the John Templeton Foundation, Chapman University, Pennsylvania State University and Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis.

Philosophy

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
The Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP) (ISSN 2161-0002) was founded in 1995 to provide open access to detailed, scholarly, peer-reviewed information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of Philosophy maintained by Stanford University.
contains articles on philosophical theory, biographies of key philosophers, and topics in philosophy