Introductions / Surveys
An Introduction or Survey is an academic work in which the author/s attempt to cover the basic information about the books of the Bible. Typically covered: author, date of composition, place of composition, issues with canonization, possible audience/s, and often, themes and or outline. The highly technical or specialized introductions may also cover manuscripts or version histories (Septuagint, Targumim, or shorter version of Jeremiah, and such) or authorial styles. There are three main "flavors" of Introductions. The conservative introduction will give traditional answers to all the questions about authorship and date. Good solid work and will give you a basic introduction to the book. The liberal introduction will give all the possible options, or at least those that fit the author/s' agenda. It is good to consult a good liberal introduction because the often alert the reader to issues that are often ignored by the conservative introductions. Liberal authors typically don't believe in miracles or prophecy, therefore, all prophecy is written after the fact and Jesus was a good teacher, but the church made up the miracle stories (their thinking). The last type of introduction would be, what could be called critical. These authors may or may not agree with all the traditional answers, but they at least try to interact with the various issues brought up by the liberal authors.
Hebrew Bible / Old Testament
Telling the Old Testament Story by
While honoring the historical context and literary diversity of the Old Testament, Telling the Old Testament Story is a thematic reading that construes the OT as a complex but coherent narrative. Unlike standard, introductory textbooks that only cover basic background and interpretive issues for each Old Testament book, this introduction combines a thematic approach with careful exegetical attention to representative biblical texts, ultimately telling the macro-level story, while drawing out the multiple nuances present within different texts and traditions. The book works from the Protestant canonical arrangement of the Old Testament, which understands the story of the Old Testament as the story of God and God's relationship with all creation in love and redemption--a story that joins the New Testament to the Old. Within this broader story, the Old Testament presents the specific story of God and God's relationship with Israel as the people called, created, and formed to be God's covenant partner and instrument within creation. The Old Testament begins by introducing God's mission in Genesis. The story opens with the portrait of God's good, intended creation of right-relationships (Gen 1--2) and the subsequent distortion of that good creation as a result of humanity's rebellion (Gen 3--11). Genesis 12 and following introduce God's commitment to restore creation back to the right-relationships and divine intentions with which it began. Coming out of God's new covenant engagement with creation in Gen 9, this divine purpose begins with the calling of a people (who turn out to be the manifold descendants of Abraham and Sarah) to be God's instrument of blessing for all creation and thus to reverse the curse brought on by sin. The diverse traditions that comprise the remainder of the Pentateuch then combine to portray the creation and formation of Israel as a people prepared to be God's instrument of restoration and blessing. As the subsequent Old Testament books portray Israel's life in the land and journey into and out of exile, the reader encounters complex perspectives on Israel's attempts to understand who God is, who they are as God's people, and how, therefore, they ought to live out their identity as God's people within God's mission in the world. The final prophetic books that conclude the Protestant Old Testament ultimately give the story of God's mission and people an open-ended quality, suggesting that God's mission for God's people continues and leading Christian readers to consider the New Testament's story of the Church as an extension and expansion of the broader story of God introduced in the Old Testament. The main methodological perspective that informs the book includes work on the phenomenological function of narrative (especially story's function to shape the identity and practice of the reader), as well as more recent so-called "missional" approaches to reading Christian scripture. Canonical criticism provides the primary means for relating the distinctive voices within the Old Testament texts that still honor the particularity and diversity of the discrete compositions. Accessibly written, this book invites readers to enter imaginatively into the biblical story and find the Old Testament's lively and enduring implications.
The Hebrew Bible by
This book brings together some of the world's most exciting scholars from across a variety of disciplines to provide a concise and accessible guide to the Hebrew Bible. It covers every major genre of book in the Old Testament together with in-depth discussions of major themes such as human nature, covenant, creation, ethics, ritual and purity, sacred space, and monotheism. This authoritative overview sets each book within its historical and cultural context in the ancient Near East, paying special attention to its sociological setting. It provides new insights into the reception of the books and the different ways they have been studied, from historical-critical enquiry to modern advocacy approaches such as feminism and liberation theology. It also includes a guide to biblical translations and textual criticism and helpful suggestions for further reading. Featuring contributions from experts with backgrounds in the Jewish and Christian faith traditions as well as secular scholars in the humanities and social sciences, The Hebrew Bible is the perfect starting place for anyone seeking a user-friendly introduction to the Old Testament, and an invaluable reference book for students and teachers.
An Introduction to the Old Testament by
"More workbook than handbook, this introduction to the Old Testament is rooted in decades of tried and proven teaching. Goldingay displays a robust confidence in truthfulness of Scripture combined with a refreshing trust in the reader's ability to grapple responsibly with the Old Testament. Even when the text hits you sideways, Goldingay encourages you not to squirm or run, but to grab hold and go deeper into theological and spiritual insight."--Back cover
A Short Introduction to the Hebrew Bible by
John J. Collins's A Short Introduction to the Hebrew Bible has become a popular option for college and seminary classrooms. Enriched by decades of classroom teaching, it is aimed explicitly at motivated students, regardless of their previous exposure to the Bible. This more compact version of Collins's renowned Introduction to the Hebrew Bible is combined with even more student-friendly features. The third edition is presented in a new and engaging format with new maps and images. An index has been added to the volume for the first time.
Introduction to the Hebrew Bible, Third Edition - Prophecy by
John J. Collins's Introduction to the Hebrew Bible is one of the most reliable and widely adopted critical textbooks at undergraduate and graduate levels alike, and for good reason. Enriched by decades of classroom teaching, it is aimed explicitly at motivated students, regardless of their previous exposure to the Bible or faith commitments. The approach is ecumenical, in the sense that it seeks not to impose any particular theological perspective but to provide information and raise questions that should be relevant to any student. Collins proceeds through the canon of the Old Testament and the Apocrypha, judiciously presenting the current state of historical, archaeological, and literary understanding of the biblical text, and engaging the student in questions of significance and interpretation for the contemporary world. The third edition is presented in a new and engaging format with new maps and images. An index has been added to the volume for the first time.
Introducing the Old Testament by
This lively, engaging introduction to the Old Testament is critical and theological, lavishly illustrated, and accompanied by a variety of pedagogical aids. It serves as the Old Testament counterpart to Mark Allan Powell's successful Introducing the New Testament (over 105,000 copies sold). Introducing the Old Testament presents disputed and controversial issues fairly, neither dictating conclusions nor privileging skepticism over faith-based perspectives. The full-color interior is illustrated with photographs and fine art and includes sidebars, maps, a glossary, and further reading suggestions. A companion website through Baker Academic's Textbook eSources features a wealth of additional resources for students and instructors. Resources for students include chapter objectives, study questions, flash cards, and self-quizzes. Resources for professors include chapter objectives, discussion prompts, pedagogical suggestions, PowerPoint slides, and a test/quiz bank. - Publisher.
The Jewish Bible by
This guide to the Jewish Bible explains what the Jewish Bible is, how it developed, its structure and differences between it and Christian Bibles. It also includes short histories of Bible translations and commentaries, a guide to characters and places, plus an introduction to Biblical poetry, storytelling, law and Bible study.
An Introduction to the Old Testament, Third Edition by
In this updated edition of the popular textbook An Introduction to the Old Testament, Walter Brueggemann and Tod Linafelt introduce the reader to the broad theological scope of the Old Testament, treating some of the most important issues and methods in contemporary biblical interpretation. This clearly written textbook focuses on the literature of the Old Testament as it grew out of religious, political, and ideological contexts over many centuries in Israel's history. Covering every book in the Old Testament (arranged in canonical order), the authors demonstrate the development of theological concepts in biblical writings from the Torah through postexilic Judaism.Incorporating the most current scholarship, this new edition also includes concrete tips for doing close readings of the Old Testament text, and a chapter on ways to read Scripture and respond in light of pressing contemporary issues, such as economic inequality, racial and gender justice, and environmental degradation. This introduction invites readers to engage in the construction of meaning as they venture into these timeless texts.
New Testament
Approaching the New Testament by
The thorough but accessible Approaching the New Testament by Adam McClendon and John Cartwright offers an informative, interactive, and practical introduction. After a section on the culture and context of the New Testament, chapters introduce each New Testament book individually, covering authorship, audience, and date of writing; an outline of the book's structure; key themes; and several points of current-day application. Intended for undergraduate and beginning seminary students, Approaching the New Testament will give readers a better understanding of the world and writing of the New Testament Scriptures as well as of their content and ongoing relevance today.
Anatomy of the New Testament by
"Now in its 8th edition, Anatomy of the New Testament is one of the most trust-worthy and enduring introductory textbooks of its kind. Its authors bring literary and historical approaches to the New Testament together, offering a comprehensive and accessible approach that appeals to students at all levels. Visually appealing and well-designed this compact edition has been designed for today's student, and is illustrated with engaging images, refreshed maps, and updated bibliographies that make the textbook enjoyable to read and easy to teach. The stand-out pedagogical features have been updated as well, updated for new advances in biblical scholarship and the needs of today's student: Have You Learned it? Offering questions for analysis and reflection; What Do They Mean? Presenting definitions for key terms to enhance student comprehension and critical thinking." --From publisher's description
Introduction to the New Testament by
Christian interpretation of the Bible is not a simple task. While finding both its beginning and end in the theological claim that Scripture reveals to us'what God has done in Christ,'Christian interpretation demands much more. The interaction between believer and text is also conversation between reader and interpretive community, both ancient and modern. Theological interpretation entails close readings of texts but also a close analysis of contexts—the social and political shape of the Mediterranean world as well as our own. Interpretation requires the interweaving of theology, history, and literature.In Introduction to the New Testament Carl R. Holladay does just that. He roots each of the New Testament's twenty-seven writings in their historical, literary, and theological contexts. A true'Reference Edition,'Holladay provides thorough, detailed, and exacting overviews, background material, and textual analysis. Holladay leads readers to consider questions of canon, authority, and genre that shape the formation of the text and the text's formation of the identity, theology, and mission of the church today. This Introduction does not leave its readers stranded in the first century; it also intentionally connects the message of the New Testament to the issues facing its faithful readers today. No stone goes unturned and no issue unexamined—Holladay's Introduction to the New Testament is an essential text for any serious student of biblical interpretation.
An Introduction to the New Testament by
This New Testament introduction is different. Many introductions zero in on the historical contexts in which the New Testament literature was written. This introduction goes further—to give particular attention to the social, cultural, and rhetorical contexts of the New Testament authors and their writings. Few introductions to the New Testament integrate instruction in exegetical and interpretive strategies with the customary considerations of authorship, dating, audience, and message. This introduction capitalizes on the opportunity, introducing students to a relevant facet of interpretation with each portion of New Testament literature. Rarely do introductions to the New Testament approach their task mindful of students preparing for ministry. This introduction is explicit in doing so, recognizing as it does that the New Testament itself—in its parts and as a whole—is a pastoral resource. Each chapter on the New Testament literature closes with a discussion of implications for ministry formation. These integrative features alone would distinguish this introduction from others. But in addition, its pages brim with maps, photos, points of interest, and aids to learning. Separate chapters explore the historical and cultural environment of the New Testament era, the nature of the Gospels and the quest for the historical Jesus, and the life of Paul. First published in 2004, David A. deSilva's comprehensive and carefully crafted introduction to the New Testament has been long established as an authoritative textbook and resource for students. This beautiful, full-color second edition has been updated throughout with new scholarship and numerous images. It is the first choice for those convinced that a New Testament introduction should integrate scholarship and ministry.
Introducing the New Testament by
A leading biblical scholar provides a lively, engaging introduction to the New Testament that is critical yet faith-friendly, lavishly illustrated, and accompanied by a variety of pedagogical aids. Now revised throughout with extensive new online material for students and professors.
New Testament Foundations by
Drawing upon over fifty years of scholarly experience of one of the most industrious contemporary scholars, this work, which was first published in 1975, has been revised, updated, and expanded to offer a fresh, in-depth introduction to the New Testament for today's students. Students will be immersed into the world of the first century, learning about both Greco-Roman and Jewish backgrounds. While discussing the fundamental questions surrounding the content of each book including its authorship, audience, and message, this work also engages with the wider historical-critical discussion, helping students navigate the wider world of modern New Testament scholarship.
An Introduction to the New Testament: Abridged by
A long-awaited abridgement of Raymond Brown's classic and best-selling introduction to the New Testament Since its publication in 1997, Raymond Brown's Introduction to the New Testament has been widely embraced by modern readers seeking to understand the Christian Bible. Acknowledged as a paragon of New Testament studies in his lifetime, Brown was a gifted communicator who wrote with ease and clarity. Abridged by Marion Soards, who worked with Brown on the original text, this new, concise version maintains the essence and centrist interpretation of the original without tampering with Brown's perspective, insights, or conclusions. The biblical writings themselves remain the focus, but there are also chapters dealing with the nature, origin, and interpretation of the New Testament texts, as well as chapters concerning the political, social, religious, and philosophical world of antiquity. Furthermore, augmenting Brown's commentary on the New Testament itself are topics such as the Gospels'relationship to one another; the form and function of ancient letters; Paul's thought and life, along with his motivation, legacy, and theology; a reflection on the historical Jesus; and a survey of relevant Jewish and Christian writings. This comprehensive, reliable, and authoritative guidebook is now more accessible for novices, general readers, Bible study groups, ministers, scholars, and students alike.