Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Web Sites in Music
Web sites in Music reviewed and recommended by the Darling Librarians.
(Note: There is some cross-over between this list and the Web Sites listed under Scores/Music Sheets.)
American Music Therapy Association
Contains information about the association as well as events and news, products, and career resources.
Baroque Music Homepage
This site contains a number of links on Baroque music including information on performances, composers, musicians, recommended recordings and discussion of historical perspectives of Baroque.
Beethoven Bibliography Database
The Ira F. Brillant Center for Beethoven Studies at San Jose State University has produced a fully-indexed bibliography of published material relating to Ludwig van Beethoven held by the Center’s own library. This bibliography contains over 10,000 records.
Choral Public Domain Library
Begun in December 1998, CPDL is one of the world's largest free sheet music sites. You can use CPDL to find scores, texts, translations, and information about composers.
Classical music, composer and works. It contains the sheet music collection at John Hopkins University, composer page links and links to music organizations all over the world.
Copyright and Music
See applicable Circulars at the U.S. Copyright Office web site.
A Guide to Medieval and Renaissance Instruments
This site is maintained by Iowa State University. Along with descriptions of the instruments, pictures of the instruments are also provided.
Historic American Sheet Music
The Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library at Duke University holds a significant collection of 19th and early 20th century American sheet music. The Historic American Sheet Music Project provides access to digital images of 3042 pieces from the collection, published in the United States between 1850 and 1920.
Hymnals of the Stone-Campbell Movement
The online version of the Enos E. Dowling Hymnal Collection, a unique collection of nineteenth century hymnals that have been digitized and placed online for access by scholars, musicians, worship leaders, and others who may have an interest in or love for the music of the Stone-Campbell Movement's heritage. This site contains the lyrics of over 9,000 hymns from 19 hymnals. It also includes the scanned pages of the hymnals, MIDI versions of the tunes, a search engine for finding a particular hym
Online Musical Scores--VARIATIONS Prototype
Indiana University's Cook Music Library hosts the Variations project that includes musical scores.
Free printable Staff Paper in different formats.