The World Wide Web has a lot to offer, but not all sources are equally valuable or reliable. Thinking Critically About World Wide Web Resources offers some basic points to consider. Here are additional points to consider regarding Web sites for subject disciplines.
Experiment with new teaching and learning ideas and identify activities you can use in the classroom. This site features labs based on the professional development series and workshops broadcast on the Annenberg/CPB Math and Science Project Channel. Each Lab combines online activities with background information and interactive polls or worksheets participants can use in their classrooms, plus links to related Web sites. New labs are added each season.
Programs and services are designed to assist Christian schools at every grade level including early education and higher education. Includes a directory of ACSI schools and accreditation information.
Information on teaching, learning & technology, state & school finance, research & statistical information, health, special, alternative & continuing education, legal & legislative information, and funding opportunities.
Per their site: "This online database provides state and territory policies and practices related to the acquisition and implementation of digital instructional materials in K12 education."
Sponsored by the National Library of Education and the U.S. Department of Education, this site provides easy access to high quality lesson plans, curriculum units and other education resources on the Internet.
Study.com. This guide explores the California teacher certification process and offers clear instructions on how to earn several types of teaching credentials.
Information on grants and fellowships, competitions, and a searchable database of over 500 award winning teacher designed classroom projects in many subject areas.
This site allows the user to generate custom graphs, maps, ranked lists, and state by state profiles of the status of children in the United States. This project is a national and state-by-state effort to track the status of children in the United States.
The NCES is the primary federal agency responsible for the collection, analysis and the reporting of data related to education. Contains an alphabetical listing by subject of many education topics as well as many other useful links.
Bilingual & Multicultural
Web Sites for Education reviewed and recommended by the Darling Librarians.
The Center provides a base for those interested in multilingual education, English as a second language, foreign language instruction, multicultural education and related areas. Developed by the Rossier School of Education, University of Southern California.
