What is a peer-reviewed journal article?
A peer-reviewed journal article is a publication in which articles go through an official editorial process that involves review and approval by the author's peers (people who are experts in the same subject area). Most (but not all) scholarly publications are peer reviewed. Some trade publications are peer reviewed.
How do I find peer-reviewed journal articles?
From the ProQuest Databases
This resource covers publications on the latest science and technology information for researchers of all levels.
OR
1 - go to Library.hiu.edu
2 - Click "A to Z Database Link"
3 - Change "Subject" to "Math and Sciences"
4 - Click "Search"
5 - Scroll down to and click "ProQuest Research Library: Science & Technology"
While in the database, DO NOT FORGET TO CLICK "PEER-REVIEWED". This ensures that all the results have gone through the peer review process.
From the World Wide Sciences Database
WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals.
READ ** Keyword search in “Full Record”. Wait, it takes a minute or so to finish searching all the databases. Choose the “Public Access” tab. From the limiter “Document type”, on the left-hand side, choose “peer-review”. Lastly, set the date range to what is appropriate for your topic and discipline.
OR
1 - go to Library.hiu.edu
2 - Click "A to Z Database Link"
3 - Change "Subject" to "Math and Sciences"
4 - Click "Search"
5 - Scroll down to and click "World Wide Sciences"
While in the database, DO NOT FORGET TO CLICK "PEER-REVIEWED". This ensures that all the results have gone through the peer review process.
From Gale's Science in Context Database
An engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics. Merges Gale's reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, experiments, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
OR
1 - go to Library.hiu.edu
2 - Click "A to Z Database Link"
3 - Change "Subject" to "Math and Sciences"
4 - Click "Search"
5 - Scroll down to and click "Science in Context"
