Books & eBooks
In the library catalog, the subject heading is "Mechanical Engineering". Here is the link to the catalog, with that subject heading already applied:
Advances in Thermal Energy Storage Systems by
Thermal energy storage (TES) technologies store thermal energy (both heat and cold) for later use as required, rather than at the time of production. They are therefore important counterparts to various intermittent renewable energy generation methods and also provide a way of valorising waste process heat and reducing the energy demand of buildings. This book provides an authoritative overview of this key area. Part one reviews sensible heat storage technologies. Part two covers latent and thermochemical heat storage respectively. The final section addresses applications in heating and energy systems. Reviews sensible heat storage technologies, including the use of water, molten salts, concrete and boreholes Describes latent heat storage systems and thermochemical heat storage Includes information on the monitoring and control of thermal energy storage systems, and considers their applications in residential buildings, power plants and industry
Electrochemical Energy Storage for Renewable Sources and Grid Balancing by
Electricity from renewable sources of energy is plagued by fluctuations (due to variations in wind strength or the intensity of insolation) resulting in a lack of stability if the energy supplied from such sources is used in 'real time'. An important solution to this problem is to store the energy electrochemically (in a secondary battery or in hydrogen and its derivatives) and to make use of it in a controlled fashion at some time after it has been initially gathered and stored. Electrochemical battery storage systems are the major technologies for decentralized storage systems and hydrogen is the only solution for long-term storage systems to provide energy during extended periods of low wind speeds or solar insolation. Future electricity grid design has to include storage systems as a major component for grid stability and for security of supply. The technology of systems designed to achieve this regulation of the supply of renewable energy, and a survey of the markets that they will serve, is the subject of this book. It includes economic aspects to guide the development of technology in the right direction. Provides state-of-the-art information on all of the storage systems together with an assessment of competing technologies Features detailed technical, economic and environmental impact information of different storage systems Contains information about the challenges that must be faced for batteries and hydrogen-storage to be used in conjunction with a fluctuating (renewable energy) power supply
Gas Turbines by
Covering basic theory, components, installation, maintenance, manufacturing, regulation and industry developments, "Gas Turbines: A Handbook of Air, Sea and Land Applications" is a broad-based introductory reference designed to give you the knowledge needed to succeed in the gas turbine industry, land, sea and air applications. Providing the big picture view that other detailed, data-focused resources lack, this book has a strong focus on the information needed to effectively decision-make and plan gas turbine system use for particular applications, taking into consideration not only operational requirements but long-term life-cycle costs in upkeep, repair and future use. With concise, easily digestible overviews of all important theoretical bases and a practical focus throughout, "Gas Turbines" is an ideal handbook for those new to the field or in the early stages of their career, as well as more experienced engineers looking for a reliable, one-stop reference that covers the breadth of the field. Covers installation, maintenance, manufacturer's specifications, performance criteria and future trends, offering a rounded view of the area that takes in technical detail as well as well as industry economics and outlookUpdated with the latest industry developments, including new emission and efficiency regulations and their impact on gas turbine technology Over 300 pages of new/revised content, including new sections on microturbines, non-conventional fuel sources for microturbines, emissions, major developments in aircraft engines, use of coal gas and superheated steam, and new case histories throughout highlighting component improvements in all systems and sub-systems. "
Heat Recovery Steam Generator Technology by
Heat Recovery Steam Generator Technology is the first fully comprehensive resource to provide readers with the fundamental information needed to understand HRSGs. The book's highly experienced editor has selected a number of key technical personnel to contribute to the book, also including burner and emission control device suppliers and qualified practicing engineers. In the introduction, various types of HRSGs are identified and discussed, along with their market share. The fundamental principles of the technology are covered, along with the various components and design specifics that should be considered. Its simple organization makes finding answers quick and easy. The text is fully supported by examples and case studies, and is illustrated by photographs of components and completed power plants to further increase knowledge and understanding of HRSG technology. Presents the fundamental principles and theories behind HRSG technology that is supported by practical design examples and illustrations Includes practical applications of combined cycle power plants and waste recovery that are both fully covered and supported by optimization throughout the book Helps readers do a better job of specifying, procuring, installing, operating, and maintaining HRSGs
Materials for Ultra-Supercritical and Advanced Ultra-Supercritical Power Plants by
Materials for Ultra-Supercritical and Advanced Ultra-Supercritical Power Plants provides researchers in academia and industry with an essential overview of the stronger high-temperature materials required for key process components, such as membrane wall tubes, high-pressure steam piping and headers, superheater tubes, forged rotors, cast components, and bolting and blading for steam turbines in USC power plants. Advanced materials for future advanced ultra-supercritical power plants, such as superalloys, new martensitic and austenitic steels, are also addressed. Chapters on international research directions complete the volume. The transition from conventional subcritical to supercritical thermal power plants greatly increased power generation efficiency. Now the introductions of the ultra-supercritical (USC) and, in the near future, advanced ultra-supercritical (A-USC) designs are further efforts to reduce fossil fuel consumption in power plants and the associated carbon dioxide emissions. The higher operating temperatures and pressures found in these new plant types, however, necessitate the use of advanced materials. Provides researchers in academia and industry with an authoritative and systematic overview of the stronger high-temperature materials required for both ultra-supercritical and advanced ultra-supercritical power plants Covers materials for critical components in ultra-supercritical power plants, such as boilers, rotors, and turbine blades Addresses advanced materials for future advanced ultra-supercritical power plants, such as superalloys, new martensitic and austenitic steels Includes chapters on technologies for welding technologies
Wind Energy Engineering by
Wind Energy Engineering: A Handbook for Onshore and Offshore Wind Turbines is the most advanced, up-to-date and research-focused text on all aspects of wind energy engineering. Wind energy is pivotal in global electricity generation and for achieving future essential energy demands and targets. In this fast moving field this must-have edition starts with an in-depth look at the present state of wind integration and distribution worldwide, and continues with a high-level assessment of the advances in turbine technology and how the investment, planning, and economic infrastructure can support those innovations. Each chapter includes a research overview with a detailed analysis and new case studies looking at how recent research developments can be applied. Written by some of the most forward-thinking professionals in the field and giving a complete examination of one of the most promising and efficient sources of renewable energy, this book is an invaluable reference into this cross-disciplinary field for engineers. Contains analysis of the latest high-level research and explores real world application potential in relation to the developments Uses system international (SI) units and imperial units throughout to appeal to global engineers Offers new case studies from a world expert in the field Covers the latest research developments in this fast moving, vital subject