LibGuides: Economic Research Guide: Company Reports

Company Research

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM remains the gold standard when it comes to business research databases. ABI/INFORM Collection's massive content set — which includes important full-text journals and much sought-after titles from the business press as well as key trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports — will help today's researchers resolve tomorrow's problems.
Comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, ABI/INFORM Dateline and ABI/INFORM Archive, and featuring over 3,000 full-text journals, 25,000 Dissertations, 14,000 SSRN working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times. Also contains country-and industry-focused reports and data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.

Financial Ratio Analysis Calculator
Plug in a company's financials and you can calculate your own ratios.
FirstRate Data - Free Intraday datasets
For backtesting and analysis purposes we offer 1 year of free intraday data for our most popular datasets. For free data for a specific instrument, we provide free samples for each dataset, however note that samples are limited to two weeks data.
All data are 1-minute intraday bars (format : timestamp,open,high,low,close,volume) - note that volume is not available for index data as volume is not in the specs for indices.
FirstRate Data - Free Tick dataset
For backtesting and analysis purposes we offer one month of free tick data for our most popular datasets. For free data for a specific instrument, we provide free samples for each dataset, however note that samples are limited to one day of tick data (or two weeks of 1-minute intraday data).

SEC / EDGAR This link opens in a new window
The mission of the SEC is to protect investors; maintain fair, orderly, and efficient markets; and facilitate capital formation. The SEC strives to promote a market environment that is worthy of the public's trust.

Search by:
- Company or fund name, ticker symbol, central index key (CIK), file number, state, country, or standard industrial classification (SIC)
- Mutual fund name, ticker symbol, or SEC key, since February 2006
- Variable insurance products by name of insurance company, underlying mutual fund, or contract, since February 2006

Thomas Register of Suppliers
Find manufacturers, distributors, and service providers.
Trading Economics Dashboard
Trading Economics provides its users with accurate information for 196 countries including historical data and forecasts for more than 20 million economic indicators, exchange rates, stock market indexes, government bond yields and commodity prices. Our data is based on official sources, not third party data providers, and our facts are regularly checked for inconsistencies.

Data and Reports

ABI/INFORM Complete This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM remains the gold standard when it comes to business research databases. ABI/INFORM Collection's massive content set — which includes important full-text journals and much sought-after titles from the business press as well as key trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market reports — will help today's researchers resolve tomorrow's problems.
Comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, ABI/INFORM Dateline and ABI/INFORM Archive, and featuring over 3,000 full-text journals, 25,000 Dissertations, 14,000 SSRN working papers, key newspapers such as The Wall Street Journal and The Financial Times. Also contains country-and industry-focused reports and data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.

To browse the reports, you must get from the default "Advanced Search" page to the "Basic Search" page. To get to the "Basic Search" page, click, "ABI/INFORM Collection" from along the top of the database page. Browse available reports by using the Browse feature in ABI/INFORM and then choosing the type of report you would like to see. You can further browse or search within the reports once you have chosen a report type.