Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Library Guide: Collection Development

Guide to effectively using library resources and services at HIU.

Collection and Development

THIS POLICY IS UNDER REVIEW
9/22/2020

Recommending Books

Full-time faculty may make recommendations for library acquisitions. Part-time faculty should make recommendations through their department chair. Please check to see if we have the book before asking us to make a purchase;

Suggest New Materials

Build the collection to advance Hope International University learning and research activities. Use the online Acquisitions Request Form.

Donating Books

The library does take donations but the majority of the books received are sent to Better World Books to sell on consignment rather than retained for the collection.

Collection Development Policy

Because no library can own all of the materials that should ideally be available to its patrons, it is necessary to set priorities. Therefore, the Darling Library abides by a Collection Development Policy which is revised as needed. In it, you will find the following:

I. INTRODUCTION
II. LIBRARY MISSION AND CORE OBJECTIVE
III. COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT STRATEGY
IV. SELECTION PRINCIPLES
V. SELECTION GUIDELINES FOR SPECIFIC MATERIALS
VI. ACQUISITION PROCEDURES
VII. COLLECTION MAINTENANCE
VIII. LIBRARY COOPERATION
IX. GIFTS/DONATED MATERIALS
X. POLICY HISTORY & REVISION

Director of Library Services

Profile Photo
Robin Hartman
Contact:
Hugh and Hazel Darling Library
2500 E. Nutwood Ave.
Fullerton, CA 92831
(714) 879-3901, ext. 1212
Website
Subjects: Library Leadership

Weeding Books

In order for the collection to remain relevant to the university’s curriculum, a systematic plan of withdrawal is followed by having the shelves reviewed by the teaching faculty. Material that is deemed unworthy of a place in the collection is further reviewed by a librarian before withdrawn.

No Textbooks

Textbooks of a general survey nature, published primarily for classroom use, are not acquired, unless they meet the criteria of being useful long-term resource materials in their own right.