Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MS Counseling Psychology Library Research Guide: Find books & articles

This guide is a part of the PSY5990 Professional Development seminar for MS Counseling Psychology students.

Find Books

The Discovery database is officially called WorldCat Discovery, but we often refer to it as just Discovery. This database will let you search and discover items in our library as well as items in libraries worldwide. These will include both physical items in the library as well as many electronic items you can access online. Discovery searches for many types of items in ALL disciplines and subject areas. Just what will you find?

  • Books
  • Electronic books (ebooks) that you can read online
  • Articles in newspapers, magazines, and scholarly peer-reviewed journals - including many that you can read online
  • DVDs

The best way to find and access books, both print and electronic, is to search the Discovery database. 

HOW TO ACCESS THE DISCOVERY DATABASE:

Find the Discovery database on the Library Home Page (link below) by choosing Discovery Search under the Find Items tab

OR ...

Use the search box labeled Discover All in the center of the Library Home Page

Search for both print books and ebooks at the same time and then filter your search if you want only a specific type of item such as an ebook that you can read online. See Search Tip 2 included below to learn about filtering.

Search Tip 1

Truncate: Use * or ? to truncate. For example, entering theolog* or theolog? finds theologian, theologica, theological, theologie, theology, etc.

Utilize keywords effectively: Use quotation marks to group multiple keywords into one key phrase. For example, to search for Christian theology, as opposed to Jewish or Islamic theology, use "Christian theology" as a key phrase.

Also, use the Advanced Search option to combine a keyword search with a particular author, title, subject or journal title. You can also use the dropdown buttons to search multiple keywords, multiple authors, etc.


Search Tip 2:

Filtering a search is a valuable part of your search strategy. Instead of starting with very narrow search criteria, and possibly missing related items, you may want to start as broadly as possible, and then limit the initial broad search in carefully designed steps.

You can filter searches by:

  • Library (search just the HIU library, just the CSUF library, or libraries worldwide)
  • Content (full-text, peer-reviewed)
  • Format (Article, Book, eBook, Audiobook, Musical Score, Map, DVD, etc.)
  • Year
  • Language
  • And others ...

Use the sorting filters on the left side of the screen after you run a search or use the Advanced Search screen to set limits before you search.

GO DIRECTLY TO AN EBOOK COLLECTION AND SEARCH
Searching the Discovery database will search for all formats (print book, ebook, articles, etc.). You can also go directly to one of our ebook collections to search as well. It's up to you!

Search the Darling Library


Advanced Search

We suggest you go to the Library website and search the Discovery database there, but you can try it out here by using this Quick Discovery Search. A search of the Discovery database will retrieve a list of items from libraries worldwide and in various formats (articles, books, ebooks, DVDs, etc.).

TIP: Once you've run a search, use the filters on the left side of your results screen to limit the list to just books held by the HIU Library, just electronic books (ebooks) that you can read online, etc.

HOW TO GET TO THE DISCOVERY DATABASE:
Find the Discovery database on the Library Home Page (link below) by choosing Discovery Search under the Find Items tab. The search box labeled Discover All on the Library Home Page will also search the Discovery database.

Find Articles

Subject specific databases provide content for a particular discipline, such as Psychology. These databases typically provide comprehensive coverage of scholarly literature (book chapters, peer-reviewed journal articles, dissertations, reports, papers, etc.) as well as discipline specific ways of searching the database. For instance, a Psychology researcher would like to be able to filter a search based on the methodology of the research being presented, the age group(s) being studied, the population group(s) being studied, etc.; whereas an English Literature researcher would be interested in searching for literature during a particular time period, literature of a particular country, etc. As a graduate student, it is highly recommended that you search a subject specific database such as PsycINFO in order to assure that you are comprehensively searching the literature of your discipline.

General research databases (such as our Discovery database) typically provide content from many disciplines and do not cover any discipline as comprehensively as a subject specific database.

HOW TO ACCESS THE PSYCHOLOGY DATABASES:

Find the Psychology databases on the Library Home Page (link below) by choosing Databases under the Find Items link

OR ...

Click the Databases tab located above the search box in the center of the Library Home Page, and then choose Psychology from the Subjects drop box choices.

After following either of these routes, you should see a list of Psychology databases to choose from

Databases specifically for Psychology research available through Darling Library for Hope International University faculty, students and staff.

Login Required

Access to library research databases, electronic books, and online articles in journals are restricted to current HIU students, staff, and faculty. You must login with your HIU email and password to use them.